An Invalid or Invalid

mitzi.flyte
3 min readApr 13, 2024

Trying to find which word defines me

Not the author: Photo by Rollz International on Unsplash

Sometimes I have found a word with two meanings, being used correctly for both meanings.

With this word, it’s really how one pronounces it.

First, a bit about me — I’m a 76 year old woman who spent almost 45 years as an RN in various areas of nursing, from general duty, to rehab, to home care, to long term care, retiring as the VP of Nursing for a long term care company.

The beginning of my career started in 1968 when the physical health of staff did not seem important to hospitals. I was on my feet almost 10 hours or more a day, moving quickly from one problem to another, pushing carts, stretchers, wheelchairs, lifting, turning patients of every size with very limited help.

I developed low back pain early in my career. And now, at 76, the pain is almost constant. I cannot walk 100 feet without having to sit down, a personal problem now that I live in the middle of two acres of trees, bushes, squirrels, and all the beauty of nature that I now can only see from my second floor bedroom window. Years ago my daughter would tell me to slow down my “nurse walk.” Now she must help me get around sometimes because of the pain weakness my legs, not to mention weakness in my self esteem.

--

--

mitzi.flyte

A 70+ year old retired RN who’s following her 60 year old dream of being a writer, one interested in everything unusual. www.facebook.com/MitziFlyteAuthor